South of the Lindenhof in the Old Town, St. Peter’s Church stands on a little hill. The oldest parish church in Zürich, it has an early 13th-century Romanesque choir under the tower and a Baroque nave with three-aisles and galleries. You can see the original 9th-century foundation underneath the chancel. In 1538, the church acquired the largest clock dials in Europe, 8.7 meters in diameter, and still holds that record.
The city’s first mayor, Rudolf Brun, acquired St. Peter’s in 1345 with all the associated privileges and obligations. His grave and monument can be found by the outer tower wall. The first reformed pastor, Leo Jud (1523-1542), was a friend of Zwingli and contributed to the first translation of the Bible in Zurich. J.C. Lavater was pastor from 1778-1801. His gravestone can be seen in the church wall.
The clock face measures 8.7m in diameter. There are five bells dating from 1880 in the tower – the largest of which weighs over six tons without its clapper.