Parroquia de San Miguel Arcángel

The parish church’s pink ‘wedding cake’ towers dominate the Jard­n. These strange pinnacles were designed by indigenous stonemason Zeferino Gutirrez in the late 19th century. He reputedly based the design on a postcard of a Belgian church and instructed builders by scratching plans in the sand with a stick. The rest of the church dates from the late 17th century. In the chapel to the left of the main altar is the much-revered image of the Cristo de la Conquista (Christ of the Conquest), made in Pátzcuaro from cornstalks and orchid bulbs, probably in the 16th century. The adjacent Iglesia de San Rafael was founded in 1742.